For the best website experience, please update your browser to its latest version. We recommend using Google Chrome.

Hi. Help us make your visit even more delicious by telling us what you love.

Thanks for sharing your loves with us.

  • [n]
  • Search

    My word. We couldn’t find what you’re looking for. But when in doubt, we always recommend ‘Candy.’

    Most Popular


    Frequently Asked Questions

    What is franchising?

    Franchising is a method of doing business by which a company (the "franchisor") grants to a person (the "franchisee") the right to use the trade-marks, proven operating system, the company's know-how, techniques and procedures in order to advertise, offer, sell or distribute the goods or services for which the franchisor is known and for which it has developed a market awareness and customer acceptance.

    What are Royalties?

    Royalties are ongoing fees paid to the franchisor by the franchisee on a regular basis, and are calculated as a percentage of sales. Royalties compensate the franchisor for providing ongoing support and research and development as well as incurring corporate office expenses. The franchisor has a good reason to work with each franchisee to make his/her business as successful as possible, as each party benefits from this success.

    What is a Franchise Agreement?

    The Franchise Agreement is a legal contract which reflects the agreement between the two parties in regards to the franchise program that is offered by the franchisor. The Franchise Agreement contains sections such as an outline of the concept and the business being awarded to the franchisee, terms and conditions, fees and payments, and a description of the rights being granted, including the licence to use the trade-marks, logos and other proprietary rights of the franchisor.

    As well, there are sections that cover the responsibilities of the franchisor and the obligations of the franchisee. As the franchisor is risking its name and reputation on the performance of each franchisee, a large portion of the agreement covers a whole range of "what if's" such as situations where the franchisee decides not to follow the proven system, defaults on any of its payments to the franchisor, wishes to retire and sell the franchised business, is unable to operate the business due to a medical situation, etc.

    What is the usual term of a Bulk Barn Franchise Agreement?

    The Franchise Agreement has an initial term to operate a Bulk Barn store at the premises for a period equal to the lesser of ten (10) years or the term of the head-lease (excluding renewals) for the premises. Subject to the franchisee satisfying certain conditions as outlined in the Franchise Agreement, there is an option to renew for an additional term equal to the lesser of ten (10) years or the term of the head-lease extension/renewal for the premises. At the time of renewal, the franchisee is required to pay a franchise renewal fee as outlined in the Franchise Agreement.

    Do I have to incorporate a company and can I have other shareholders?

    Yes, an incorporated company is required to operate the Bulk Barn store. One individual must hold at least 2/3 of all of the issued shares (voting and non-voting) of your corporation. This individual will be the franchisee named on the Franchise Agreement, and is required to provide on-site supervision in the store with accountability to BBFL for compliance with all requirements under the Franchise Agreement. No other individuals can be party to the Franchise Agreement. Other individuals can, however, hold the remaining 1/3 of the issued shares of your corporation.

    What is the cost of acquiring the franchise rights for a Bulk Barn store?

    There is a non-refundable initial franchisee fee which is disclosed in the Franchise Agreement and is payable upon execution of the agreement.

    What is the cost of a turnkey Bulk Barn franchise?

    The turnkey cost for a store that is approximately 5,000 square feet in size starts at a minimum of $750,000 plus applicable taxes, which includes the initial franchise fee. This cost will be higher for certain markets, and depending on the size of the store. Approximately one-third of the cost must be unencumbered (cash or liquid assets). The remaining amount may be financed through various lending programs offered by the chartered banks. Additional working capital of $25,000 (unencumbered) is also recommended for start-up costs.

    What is included in the cost of the franchise?

    The turnkey arrangement and cost include the following:

    An initial franchise fee, granting to the franchisee the right to operate a Bulk Barn franchise at the franchised location for the term of the Franchise Agreement, and to use the trade-marks, trade names and systems in doing business;

    • All leaseholds, fixtures, equipment and signage;
    • Initial inventory of products and supplies;
    • Pre-opening and opening support and assistance, as determined by BBFL, to be provided during the initial stages of operation;
    • The use of all confidential Bulk Barn manuals;
    • An initial training program conducted in-store and/or such other location as may be specified by BBFL (all expenses related to travel, such as transportation, lodging and meals, are the responsibility of the franchisee).

    Any deposits required for setting up of accounts for hydro, gas, telephone, etc., are extra and the responsibility of the franchisee.

    Will BBFL provide financial assistance?

    In the normal course of its business, BBFL does not offer, directly or indirectly, any financing arrangements, nor does it guarantee the obligations of its franchisees.

    What types of qualifications does BBFL seek in a franchise candidate?

    The selection of new Bulk Barn franchisees is a rigorous process, involving extensive interviews and approvals. Not everyone who applies for a franchise will meet our stringent standards and criteria. Candidates must portray qualities such as pride in ownership, willingness and ability to follow a prescribed system, attention to detail, management skills, effective people skills, personal commitment, and of course financial stability, all of which are critical to the success of our system.

    Will BBFL select the location and build the store for me?

    Yes, site selection and the build-out of the store are carried out solely by BBFL, and the end result is a turnkey operation being handed over to the franchisee. BBFL is always on the lookout for prime locations. In arrangements with landlords, BBFL will hold title to the head-lease and the franchisee will sublet the premises from BBFL by way of a Sublease Agreement. All lease negotiations are carried out by BBFL to ensure that the most advantageous lease terms are obtained.

    How does BBFL evaluate a potential new store location?

    BBFL analyzes information in many different ways. These usually include demographic profiles, population statistics, projected growth trends, trade area analyses, retail shopping patterns and other appropriate factors.

    What is the size of an average Bulk Barn store?

    Bulk Barn stores are typically 5,000 square feet, although certain stores may be less than or greater than this size.

    Where and how do I purchase the product to be offered for sale at my store?

    The majority of products for sale in the store are ordered from and supplied by BBFL’s Corporate Office where orders are placed, filled and shipped to the franchisee from our warehouse facilities. There are a few products that are ordered directly by the franchisee from approved suppliers and shipped directly to the premises from those suppliers.

    Can I purchase product from any other suppliers?

    No. In order to maintain a predictable shopping experience for our customers, we must keep uniformity in our Bulk Barn stores and we must be able to supply the same product in all of our stores. The merchandising department at BBFL’s Corporate Office is continuously evaluating our existing products, as well as sourcing new products to add to our mix. This is done with a view to ensuring that we always have products of the type and quality that our customers have come to expect.

    Does BBFL require the franchisee to be actively involved in operating the store?

    Yes. The Bulk Barn business requires and responds successfully to the personal input and attention of an involved franchisee. It is essential that the franchisee become involved in all facets of the business. You can expect to work many long hours, particularly at the beginning of your franchise term and during the seasonal peak periods. You should be knowledgeable about all of the products offered for sale in your store, how to perform sales transactions, and other functions required of you on a daily basis. The demands on you can be minimized by your ability to attract, motivate and retain capable trained employees. A Bulk Barn franchisee is required to spend a minimum of 40 hours per week at the store.

    Can a Bulk Barn franchise owner operate more than one Bulk Barn store?

    Yes. Provided that you are in good standing with BBFL and have demonstrated success in all areas of the business, including financial success, additional locations can be applied for.

    What training and store opening assistance is provided?

    BBFL will provide a complete training program. Initial training is provided in-store and/or such other location as may be specified by BBFL. Pre-opening and opening assistance, as determined by Bulk Barn Foods Limited, will occur throughout the opening stages of your operation. Bulk Barn also provides access to an E-Learning training program for store employees (currently available in all provinces other than Quebec).

    Is there an advertising fee?

    Yes, there is an "Advertising Fund" contribution, based on a percentage of sales, which is payable on a weekly basis.

    What type of return can I expect?

    We do not provide projected earnings statements. Once an approved applicant has been matched with a site, a Franchise Disclosure Document, as required under the particular province's franchise legislation, is provided. This document contains information to assist the applicant in building his/her own business plan. For applicants in provinces that do not have franchise legislation, we provide an Ontario disclosure document on a voluntary basis, which meets the requirements of the Arthur Wishart Act (Franchise Disclosure), 2000.

    How long does the application process take?

    Candidates are generally advised within 4 to 6 weeks of receipt of their fully completed application whether or not they qualify to start the formal interview process. Incomplete application forms will not be accepted.

    Once I have been identified as a suitable candidate for a Bulk Barn franchise, what is the waiting period for a franchise and how do I know what number I am on the list?

    We do not rank applicants by order in which they apply. Therefore, we are unable to provide specific timeframes or guarantee a franchise to approved applicants. When a franchise opportunity arises, all qualified applicants who have shown a preference for that location will be considered. The candidate deemed most suitable to BBFL will be awarded the franchise.

    How secure is my personal information provided by way of the Franchise Application Form?

    All information is kept confidential. We do not sell your personal information to third parties. Refer to our Privacy Policy contained on this website.

    Can I sell my franchise?

    Yes, you are free to sell your franchise in the open marketplace whenever you wish, subject to BBFL’s approval of the prospective buyer. There are a number of conditions that must be met upon such a transfer, as contained in the Franchise Agreement, including the payment of a transfer fee to BBFL.

    Where do we go from here?

    i. Complete the Confidential Application Form in full, with all information pertinent to yourself and any other individuals who would be shareholders of your corporation. Sign and mail to:

    Franchise Department
    Bulk Barn Foods Limited
    320 Don Hillock Drive
    Aurora, Ontario
    L4G 0G9

    ii. Qualified prospective franchisees will be contacted within 4 to 6 weeks and will be invited to BBFL’s Corporate Office for an interview.

    iii. Once you have completed all stages of the interview process and we have secured a location for a Bulk Barn store that is suitable to you, we will supply you with a copy of our Franchise Disclosure Document for review by yourself and your solicitor.

    iv. Once you have decided to proceed, you will be required to incorporate a company and to arrange financing. Once this has been done, we would execute the Franchise Agreement and other related franchise documents. Please note that, pursuant to Ontario legislation (and under similar legislation in other provinces that have franchise legislation), a period of at least fourteen (14) days must pass between delivery of the Disclosure Document and execution of the Franchise Agreement. Your initial franchise fee would be due and payable to BBFL at this time.

    v. Once the Franchise Agreement and other related franchise documents has been executed and the location has been finalized, we will set up a mutually convenient time for training and store opening procedures will begin.

Pour une meilleure utilisation du site Web, veuillez mettre à jour votre navigateur à la version la plus récente. Nous recommandons d'utiliser Google Chrome.

Bonjour, aidez-nous à rendre votre visite encore plus délicieuse en nous disant ce que vous cherchez.

Merci de partager ce que vous aimez avec nous.

  • [n]
  • Chercher

    Zut. Nous ne trouvons pas ce que vous cherchez. Pour vous consoler, nous recommandons « friandise ».

    Popularité

    Franchises disponibles

    Foire aux questions

    Qu’est-ce que le franchisage?

    Le franchisage est un procédé commercial selon lequel une société (le franchiseur) accorde à une personne (le franchisé) le droit d’utiliser les marques de commerce, les systèmes d’exploitation, le savoir-faire, les techniques et les procédures de l’entreprise pour annoncer, offrir, vendre ou distribuer des produits ou services pour lesquels le franchiseur est reconnu et pour lesquels il a développé un marché et une clientèle.

    Que sont les redevances?

    Les redevances sont des frais permanents régulièrement versés au franchiseur par le franchisé, équivalant à un pourcentage des ventes. Les redevances couvrent les coûts du franchiseur pour l’assistance continue et la recherche et le développement fournis au franchisé; elles couvrent aussi divers frais encourus par le Siège social. Le franchiseur a d’excellentes raisons de collaborer avec chaque franchisé pour que leur entreprise soit aussi rentable que possible, puisque tous tireront profit de ce succès.

    Qu’est-ce qu’un contrat de franchise?

    Le contrat de franchise est un contrat au sens de la loi, qui reflète l’accord des deux parties relativement au programme de franchise offert par le franchiseur. Le contrat de franchise contient plusieurs sections, dont les grandes lignes du concept et de l’entreprise dont le franchisé bénéficiera, les conditions et modalités, les frais et paiements, et la description des droits accordés, incluant la licence d’emploi de la marque de commerce, des logos et des autres droits de propriété du franchiseur.
    D’autres sections couvrent les responsabilités du franchiseur et les obligations du franchisé. En effet, puisque le nom et la réputation du franchiseur reposent sur la performance de chaque franchisé, une grande partie du contrat couvre tout un éventail de situations hypothétiques. Le franchisé pourrait, par exemple, ne pas se conformer aux politiques, ne pas honorer ses paiements au franchiseur, choisir de prendre sa retraite et vendre la franchise, se trouver dans l’impossibilité d’exploiter l’entreprise pour cause de maladie, etc.

    Quelle est la durée habituelle d’un contrat de franchise Bulk Barn?

    Le contrat de franchise stipule une période initiale d’exploitation d’un magasin Bulk Barn sur l’emplacement désigné pendant dix (10) ans ou la durée du bail principal des lieux (renouvellements non compris), la période la plus courte étant retenue. Si le franchisé répond à certaines conditions énoncées dans le contrat de franchise, il est possible de renouveler pour une période supplémentaire égale à dix (10) ans ou à la durée de l’extension/renouvellement du bail principal des lieux, la période la plus courte étant retenue. Au moment du renouvellement, le franchisé doit débourser les frais de renouvellement de franchise comme le précise le contrat de franchise.

    Dois-je constituer une entreprise en personne morale et puis-je avoir d’autres actionnaires?

    Oui, une entreprise en personne morale est essentielle pour exploiter un magasin Bulk Barn. Un seul individu doit détenir au moins deux tiers de toutes les actions émises (avec ou sans droit de vote) de votre entreprise. Cet individu sera le franchisé nommé au contrat de franchise et devra assurer une supervision en magasin avec l’obligation de rendre compte à ABBL de la conformité à toutes les exigences en vertu du contrat de franchise. Bien qu’aucune autre personne ne puisse être liée au contrat de franchise, d'autres individus peuvent détenir le reste (un tiers) des actions émises de votre entreprise.

    Quel est le coût d'acquisition des droits de franchise d’un magasin Bulk Barn?

    Une redevance initiale de franchise non remboursable est indiquée dans le contrat de franchise et est payable à la passation du contrat.

    Quel est le coût d'une franchise Bulk Barn clé en main?

    Le coût clé en main d’un magasin d’environ 5000 pieds carrés est fixé à un minimum de 750 000 $, en plus des taxes applicables, et inclut la redevance initiale de franchise. Ce coût pourra être plus élevé dans certains marchés et selon la superficie du magasin. Environ un tiers du coût total de la franchise doit être non grevé (argent comptant ou avoir liquide). Le solde résiduel peut être financé par le biais des divers programmes de prêt proposés par les banques à charte. Il est recommandé de prévoir un fonds de roulement additionnel de 25 000 $ (non grevé) pour les coûts de démarrage.

    Qu'inclut le coût de la franchise?

    Le coût du contrat clé en main inclut les services et produits suivants :

    • Une redevance initiale de franchisage qui accorde le droit au franchisé d’exploiter une franchise Bulk Barn à l’emplacement désigné, pour la durée du contrat de franchise, ainsi que d’utiliser les noms de marque, noms commerciaux et systèmes d’exploitation;
    • Les tenures à bail, les accessoires fixes, l’équipement et la signalisation;
    • Le stock initial d'ouverture (produits et fournitures);
    • Une assistance pour la préouverture et l’ouverture, à la discrétion de ABBL, qui sera fournie lors des stades initiaux d’exploitation;
    • L’utilisation de tous les manuels confidentiels Bulk Barn;
    • Un programme de formation initial offert en magasin et/ou à un autre emplacement tel que spécifié par ABBL (tous les frais de déplacement tels que voyagement, hébergement et repas sont aux frais du franchisé);

    Tous versements requis afin d’ouvrir des comptes d’électricité, de chauffage au gaz, de téléphone, etc. sont supplémentaires et la responsabilité du franchisé.

    ABBL offre-t-elle une aide financière?

    ABBL n’offre pas, directement ou indirectement, d’aide financière ni ne se porte garant des obligations de ses franchisés dans le cadre normal de ses activités commerciales.

    Quelles sont les qualifications requises d’un candidat à la franchise Bulk Barn?

    Le processus de sélection des nouveaux franchisés Bulk Barn est rigoureux et nécessite des entrevues approfondies. Certains des candidats qui font la demande d’une franchise ne répondront pas à nos normes et critères très stricts. Les candidats doivent, entre autres, se sentir fiers d’être propriétaires et faire preuve de volonté et d’aptitude à suivre un système prescrit. Le souci du détail, des aptitudes en gestion, de l’entregent, un engagement personnel et, bien sûr, une stabilité financière sont également des qualités essentielles à la réussite de notre système.

    ABBL choisit-elle l’emplacement et met-elle sur pied le magasin pour un nouveau franchisé?

    Oui, le choix de l’emplacement et la construction du magasin relèvent entièrement de ABBL et le résultat final est une opération clé en main remise au franchisé. ABBL est toujours à l’affût d’emplacements privilégiés. En accord avec les locateurs, ABBL sera détentrice de tous les baux principaux et le franchisé sous-louera les locaux de ABBL au moyen du contrat de sous-location. Toutes les négociations de location sont menées à bien par ABBL pour assurer que les modalités du bail soient des plus avantageuses.

    Comment ABBL évalue-t-elle le potentiel d'un nouvel emplacement de magasin?

    ABBL analyse l’information sous plusieurs angles. Le matériel étudié inclut généralement des profils et statistiques démographiques, des projections de tendances en croissance, des analyses de secteurs commerciaux et des habitudes d’achat au détail des consommateurs ainsi que d’autres facteurs pertinents.

    Quelle est la superficie moyenne d’un magasin Bulk Barn?

    Les magasins Bulk Barn s’étendent habituellement sur 5000 pieds carrés, bien que certains puissent être plus petits ou plus grands

    Où et comment se procure-t-on les produits à vendre en magasin?

    La plupart des produits offerts en magasin sont commandés auprès du Siège social de ABBL et expédiés de notre Centre répartiteur aux franchisés. Certains produits sont commandés directement par le franchisé auprès de fournisseurs autorisés, puis expédiés directement au magasin.

    Puis-je m’approvisionner auprès d’autres fournisseurs?

    Non. Afin de fournir une expérience d’achat prévisible à nos clients, nous devons maintenir une uniformité dans nos magasins Bulk Barn et offrir les mêmes produits. Le service de marchandisage du Siège social de ABBL évalue régulièrement nos produits existants et recherche de nouveaux produits à ajouter à notre sélection afin de toujours pouvoir offrir le type de produits et la qualité auxquels s’attendent nos clients.

    ABBL demande-t-elle au franchisé de participer activement à l’exploitation de son magasin?

    Oui. Les activités commerciales de Bulk Barn nécessitent la participation active du franchisé. Il est essentiel que le franchisé contribue à toutes les facettes de l’entreprise. Vous pouvez vous attendre à travailler de longues heures, surtout lors du démarrage de votre franchise et pendant les périodes de pointe saisonnières. Vous devriez être bien informé sur tous les produits que vous offrez en magasin, sur le traitement des transactions au point de vente et sur toute autre fonction que vous aurez à exercer quotidiennement. Votre charge de travail peut cependant être diminuée en vous entourant d’une équipe fiable et compétente. Un franchisé Bulk Barn doit consacrer un minimum de 40 heures par semaine à l’exploitation de son magasin.

    Le propriétaire d’une franchise Bulk Barn peut-il exploiter plus d’un magasin Bulk Barn?

    Oui. Si vous maintenez de bons rapports avec ABBL et que vous avez démontré votre capacité d’exploiter un magasin avec succès et de le rentabiliser, vous pouvez faire une demande pour acquérir d’autres emplacements.

    Quels sont les services de formation et d’assistance offerts pendant la période précédant l’ouverture?

    ABBL fournira un programme complet de formation. La formation initiale est offerte en magasin et/ou à un autre emplacement tel que spécifié par ABBL. L’assistance fournie avant la période d’ouverture et tout au long des stades initiaux d’exploitation est à l’entière discrétion de ABBL. Bulk Barn met également un programme de formation E-Learning à la disposition des employés du magasin (présentement disponible dans toutes les provinces sauf au Québec).

    Y a-t-il des frais de publicité?

    Oui; une contribution au « fonds de publicité » équivalant à un pourcentage des ventes est payable toutes les semaines.

    À quel soutien publicitaire peut s’attendre un propriétaire de franchise?

    Grâce au « fonds de publicité », le franchiseur fournit un programme de publicité et de promotion dans chacun des marchés où des magasins Bulk Barn sont situés.

    Quel est le revenu auquel un nouveau franchisé peut s'attendre de réaliser?

    Nous ne fournissons pas d’états financiers prévisionnels. Une fois qu’un emplacement est assigné au candidat, un document d’information, requis en vertu de la législation provinciale applicable, est remis à tout nouveau franchisé. Ce document contient des renseignements destinés à faciliter l’élaboration du plan d’affaires du franchisé. Pour les demandes déposées dans les provinces sans législation en matière de franchises, nous fournissons volontairement le document d’information de l’Ontario, qui répond aux exigences de la Loi Arthur Wishart (Arthur Wishart Act), adoptée en 2000, sur la divulgation relative aux franchises.
     

    Quelle est la durée de la procédure de demande?

    Nous requérons généralement de quatre à six semaines après avoir reçu la demande complétée pour répondre au candidat et, s’il est retenu, amorcer le processus d’entrevue. Les demandes incomplètes ne seront pas acceptées.

    Combien de temps un candidat à la franchise qualifié doit-il attendre avant de se voir assigner un magasin? Les candidats qui ont posé leur candidature avant moi ont-ils priorité?

    Nous ne classons pas les candidats en fonction de la date de leur demande. Nous sommes donc dans l’impossibilité de fournir un délai d’attente précis ou de garantir une franchise aux candidats retenus. Lorsqu’une occasion de franchise se présente, tous les candidats retenus qui ont exprimé une préférence pour cet emplacement sont pris en considération. Le candidat jugé le plus convenable par ABBL se verra accorder la franchise.

    Les renseignements personnels fournis dans le formulaire de demande sont-ils gardés confidentiels?

    Tous les renseignements demeurent confidentiels. Aucun renseignement personnel ne sera divulgué à des tiers. Veuillez consulter la politique de confidentialité affichée sur le présent site Web pour plus de détails.

    Puis-je vendre ma franchise?

    Oui; vous pouvez vendre votre franchise sur le marché libre quand bon vous semble, sous réserve de l’approbation de l’acheteur potentiel par ABBL. Certaines conditions doivent cependant être respectées lors d’un tel transfert, telles qu’elles sont énoncées dans le contrat de franchise, y compris le paiement du frais de transfert à ABBL.

    Comment procéder?

    i. Remplissez le formulaire confidentiel au complet, en y incluant tous les renseignements pertinents sur vous et sur toute autre personne qui deviendra actionnaire de votre société. Signez le formulaire et retournez-le à l’adresse suivante :

    Franchise Department
    Aliments Bulk Barn Limitée
    320 Don Hillock Drive
    Aurora, Ontario
    L4G 0G9

     

    ii. Les candidats à la franchise qui auront été retenus seront contactés dans un délai de quatre à six semaines et convoqués au Siège social de ABBL pour une entrevue.

    iii. Une fois que tout le processus d’entrevue est terminé et que nous avons un emplacement de magasin qui vous convient, notre document d’information sur la franchise vous sera remis aux fins d’examen par vous et votre avocat.

    iv. Quand vous aurez décidé d’acquérir la franchise, vous devrez constituer une entreprise en personne morale et en assurer le financement. Ces étapes complétées, le contrat de franchise sera conclu et les autres documents pertinents concernant la franchise seront réglés. Veuillez noter qu’en vertu de la loi ontarienne (et en vertu de lois similaires dans les autres provinces qui ont une loi sur la franchise), une période d’au moins quatorze (14) jours doit s’écouler entre la remise du document d’information et la signature du contrat de franchise. Votre redevance initiale de franchise sera alors due et payable à ABBL.

    v. Une fois que le contrat de franchise est conclu, que les autres documents sont réglés et que l’emplacement du magasin est désigné, nous conviendrons d’un commun accord des moments opportuns pour la formation et les procédures d’ouverture du magasin.

    Cliquez ici pour télécharger le formulaire de demande.